Symposium BB
Synthesis and Architecture of Nanomaterials


  • Dan ZHAO, National University of Singapore, Singapore


  • Jianping XIE, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Hong YANG, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States
  • Martin SCHRODER, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
  • Guodong QIAN, Zhejiang University, China


  • Dr Dan Zhao, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Tel: 6516 4679
    Mailing Address:
    Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, 4 Engineering Drive 4, BLK E5, #02-16, National University of Singapore, Singapore 117585

    Singapore 117585

Scope of Symposium

Discrete nanomaterials have a limited scope of applications, due to potential cytotoxicity or difficulties in separation and recovery after use. Furthermore, advanced functional materials nowadays are normally not a single-phase solid, but a highly organized multi-component materials system. To prepare these new functional materials, architectural aspects of design and synthesis must be investigated, because the ways of compositional and structural organizations in product materials will give significant impacts on their ultimate performance. The scope of this symposium is therefore to provide an overview on recent advancement and R&D activities in the field of synthesis of functional inorganic, organic, polymeric and biomaterials (e.g., nanocomposites and nanohybrids) with a particular emphasis on architectural design and organization.

Invited Speakers

  • Mark ALLENDORF, Sandia National Laboratories, United States
  • P. Davide COZZOLI, Università del Salento, Italy
  • Yuanjing CUI, Zhejiang University, China
  • Danil DYBTSEV, Nikolaev Institute of Inorganic Chemistry Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences, Russian Federation
  • Yu HAN, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
  • Matthew HILL, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), Australia
  • Satoshi HORIKE, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Jiaxing HUANG, Northwestern University, United States
  • De-en JIANG, University of California, Riverside, United States
  • Donglin JIANG, Institute for Molecular Science, National Institutes of Natural Sciences, Japan
  • Rongchao JIN, Carnegie Mellon University, United States
  • Stefan KASKEL, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
  • Yuzi LIU, Argonne National Laboratory, United States
  • Jeffrey R. LONG, University of California, Berkeley, United States
  • Guillaume MAURIN, Université Montpellier, France
  • Yuichi NEGISHI, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
  • Serge RAVAINE, The National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), France
  • Moonsub SHIM, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States
  • Sara SKRABALAK, Indiana University, United States
  • Myunghyun Paik SUH, Hanyang University, South Korea
  • Yung Doug SUH, Korea Research Institute of Chemical Technology, South Korea
  • Yugang SUN, Argonne National Laboratory, United States
  • Bo WANG, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
  • Xun WANG, Tsinghua University, China
  • Sihai YANG, The University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
  • Shuhong YU, University of Science and Technology of China, China
  • Michael ZAWOROTKO, University of Limerick, Ireland
  • Tierui ZHANG, Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry (TIPC), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), China