Symposium Z
Surfaces/Interfaces Modification by Molecules


  • Cedric TROADEC, Institute of Materials Research & Engineering, Singapore
  • M. P. SRINIVASAN, National University of Singapore, Singapore


  • Karen KAVANAGH, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • David CAHEN, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel


  • Prof M. P. Srinivasan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Tel: +65 6516 2171
    Mailing Address:
    4 Engineering Drive 4 National University of Singapore, Singapore 117585
    Singapore 117585

Scope of Symposium

The scope of the symposium is to provide an overview of the recent advances in materials science and engineering with focus of events happening at semiconductor surfaces and interfaces.  The scope includes large area inorganic and hybrid systems and encompasses metal-semiconductor, organic-semiconductor, metal-organic interfacial phenomena.  The symposium will cover the following sub-topics:

  • Process: Solution and vapor based surface modification, novel processes for control at molecular level
  • Properties characterization: Optical, electrical, biological, chemical and mechanical phenomena at such interfaces
  • Applications: devices, passivation, protection, sensing, catalysis, energy, environment, nano/molecular electronics, bioelectronics
  • Understanding of interfacial phenomena: theory and simulation

Invited Speakers

  • Franklin ANARIBA, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
  • Stacey BENT, Stanford University, United States
  • Paul BLOM, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Germany
  • Jean-Luc BREDAS, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
  • Barbara BRENA, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Michel CALAME, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • Enrico DA COMO, University of Bath, United Kingdom
  • Norbert KOCH, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany
  • Jeffrey NEATON, University of California Berkeley, United States
  • Christian NIJHUIS, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Patrick REYNAUD, CEA Leti, France
  • Michelle SPENCER, RMIT University, Australia
  • Ernst SUDHÖLTER, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Martin THUO, Iowa State University, United States
  • Nobuo UENO, Chiba University, Japan
  • Dominique VUILLAUME, Institute of Electronics, Microelectronics and Nanotechnology (IEMN), France
  • Shlomo YITZCHAIK, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
  • Michael ZHARNIKOV, Heidelberg University, Germany
  • Egbert ZOJER, Graz University of Technology, Austria