Symposium X
Magnetic and Spintronic Materials


  • S. N. PIRAMANAYAGAM, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore; Agency for Science Technology and Research, Singapore
  • Jun DING, National University of Singapore, Singapore


  • Raju RAMANUJAN, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Jian-Ping WANG, University of Minnesota, United States
  • Russell COWBURN, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom


  • Prof S. N. Piramanayagam, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore; Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
    Tel: 65923148
    Mailing Address:
    21 Nanyang Link
    Singapore 637371


Scope of Symposium

Magnetism plays a major role in our life; from the speakers of the music player, to the storage devices such as hard disk drives that hold our music and videos, and to the generators that power up these devices. The symposium will cover the recent progress in the field of magnetic materials and Spintronics such as, but not limited to the following:

  • Soft magnetic materials
  • Hard magnetic materials
  • Materials for Magnetic recording
  • Magnetic materials for energy
  • Materials for Spintronics Applications
  • Materials for microwave and related applications
  • Magnetic materials for biological applications
  • Nanomagnetics and Spin Physics
  • Fundamentals of magnetism

Papers presented in the symposium will be published as a special issue in IEEE Magnetics Letters. The journal will receive the impact factor in 2015. The papers submitted for the special issue will undergo the rigorous review of the journal. The papers are expected to be published before December 2015.

Publication of Conference-Related Articles in IEEE Magnetics Letters

Instructions for Authors

You may submit your four-page article, whether contributed or invited, for publication in IEEE Magnetics Letters (IML), with a deadline of 30 June 2015. If you are giving an invited talk, your four-page submission should not be a review. Rather, it should contain mostly new results, as is appropriate for a letters journal. A Microsoft Word template is available .

If your article is accepted, it will be published on-line, in preprint form, immediately after full peer review and your revisions. Several weeks later, it will appear as fully edited and typeset. Each paper will have its own article number and dates of submission and publication.

Symposium articles will all be grouped together in IML. Each article will have a heading, "Magnetic and Spintronic Materials," and a footnote, "International Conference on Materials for Advanced Technologies, Singapore, 28 June - 3 July 2015." Except for the heading and footnote, your article will be similar to any other IML article. Each article will be "open-access" for anyone for 10 days after publication. There is no charge for publication.

The URL for article submission is    

In the submission process, please be sure to select "CMAT - International Conference on Materials for Advanced Technologies (Magnetic and Spintronic Materials)" as the Manuscript Subject.

The IML website for published articles is  . IML is tracked by all major indexing services, including Web of Science and Scopus. The average time from submission to preprint publication is 3 weeks.

Deadline to submit final manuscripts : 30th June 2015

Invited Speakers

  • M.R. ANANTHARAMAN, Cochin University of Science and Technology, India
  • Jingsheng CHEN, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Peter FISCHER, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, United States
  • Shintaro HINATA, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Atsufumi HIROHATA, University of York, United Kingdom
  • Yanglong HOU, Peking University, China
  • Xiaoxi LIU, Shinshu University, Japan
  • Sara MAJETICH, Carnegie Mellon University, United States
  • Hiroaki MURAOKA, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Shigeki NAKAGAWA, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Hideo OHNO, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Christos PANAGOPOULOS, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Philip PONG, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR
  • Shiva PRASAD, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India
  • Saibal ROY, Tyndall National Institute, Ireland
  • Echur V SAMPATHKUMARAN, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, India
  • Rachid SBIAA, Sultan Qaboos University, Oman
  • Ludwig SCHULTZ, Leibniz Institute for Solid State and Materials Research (IFW Dresden), Germany
  • Ricardo SOUSA, Spintec, France
  • Teho WU, National Yunlin University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
  • Tiejun ZHOU, Data Storage Institute, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR), Singapore