Symposium R
Novel Solution Processes for Advanced Functional Materials


  • K BYRAPPA, University of Mysore, Manasagangothri, 570 006, Mysore, Karnataka, India, India
  • Mei Chee TAN, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore


  • Kohei SOGA, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
  • Sanjay MATHUR, University of Cologne, Germany


  • Dr Mei Chee Tan, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore
    Tel: +6564994572
    Mailing Address:
    8 Somapah Road, #02-101
    Singapore 487372

Scope of Symposium

Solution Processing is one of the most promising and efficient means of fabricating advanced functional materials. It is also the oldest known method in materials science covering a wide range of techniques to produce bulk, fine, and nanosize materials. Some of the recent developments in the solution processing have created revolution in materials science. For example, Direct write technology  and the multi-energy processing of materials using hydrothermal-microwave, or solvothermal-microwave, or hydrothermal-mechanochemical, or hydrothermal-electrochemistry, hydrothermal-sol-gel, hydrothermal-solution plasma, etc. have revolutionized the science, and take us to altogether a new concept called Chemistry at the Speed of Light. The combination of sol-gel and hydrothermal is another fantastic development in recent years and it has a great bearing on the future materials processing routes. The Chairs of this symposium have discussed these recent developments in the area of novel solution processing especially for biomedical materials in their books and reviews published in high impact journals. These concepts have been very well received by the specialists. Therefore, in this symposium all the recent developments which were hitherto not discussed on one platform will be discussed.


·         Solution processing - General Conventional Methods & Novel Methods

·         Soft Solution Processing, Spray Pyrolysis, Solution Plasma Processing

·         High temperature solution methods.

·         Solution Routes for Polyscale Crystal Growth - Bulk single crystals, Fine crystals &   Nanocrystals.  

·         Synthesis of polyscale materials including nanomaterials and nanotubes through Hydrothermal, Solvothermal,  Ammonothermal, Glycothermal, HIP, Hydrothermal epitaxy, Geothermal reactor.

·         Supercritical Fluid Technology for materials processing & recycling, Green chemistry, Nanohybrid & composite materials.

·         Mechanochemical, Sonochemical, Microwave, Electrochemical processing of materials. Multi-energy Processing Routes.

·         Biomimetic, Nature inspired Bio-inspired, Geomimetic techniques.

·         Solution processing of Thin films, Fine ceramics, Direct write technology, Wet chemical processing (e.g., co-precipitation, hydrolysis,)

·         Sol-gel technology

·         Engineered Materials and devices for environment and energy applications

·         Inorganic nanostructures fabrication, hybrid composites for various applications, Nanoceramics processing.

·         Novel methods of materials processing for bioimaging and biophotonics applications.

·         Self-assembly, Templating.

·         Hydrothermal & Solvothermal Carbon forms.

·         Novel Solution processing Routes for nanoscale films, Nanoprobes and Nanocarriers for Biological Imaging.

·         Novel techniques of patterning and  manufacturing of materials for next generation displays.

·         Solution processing of Materials for water purification and effluent treatment.

·         Solution processing of negative index materials – from microwave to optical.

·         Novel solution processing of biodegradable & biocompatible materials.

·         Solution processing of nanoparticles from fabrication to clinical applications.

·         Nanobiomolecular assembly

·         Toxicity of nanomaterials

Invited Speakers

  • Tadafumi ADSCHIRI, Tohoku University, Japan
  • K. BYRAPPA, University of Mysore, India
  • Nadine CANDONI, Aix-Marseille University, France
  • Kao-Shuo CHANG, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
  • Abdelkrim CHEMSEDDINE, Institute Solar Fuels (E-IF), Hahn-Meitner-Platz, Germany
  • Qisheng CHEN, Institute of Mechanics ,Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Jin-Ho CHOY, Ewha Womans University, South Korea
  • Silke CHRISTIANSE, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Germany
  • Zorica CRNJAK OREL, National institute of Chemistry, Slovenia
  • Jawwad DARR, University College London, United Kingdom
  • Michael DUDLEY, State University of New York at Stony Brook, United States
  • Gregory K. L. GOH, Institute of Materials Research and Engineering, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR), Singapore
  • Motonobu GOTO, Nagoya University, Japan
  • Kumar J, Anna University, India
  • Mihir JOSHI, Saurashtra University, India
  • Binay KUMAR, University of Delhi, India
  • Edward LESTER, The University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
  • Sanjay MATHUR, University of Cologne, Germany
  • Abel MORENO, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM), Mexico
  • Nicola PINNA, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Germany
  • Christian REY, Toulouse 3 University – Paul Sabatier (UPS), National Polytechnic Institute of Toulouse (INPT) and Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), France
  • Richard RIMAN, Rutgers University, United States
  • Federico ROSEI, National Institute for Scientific Research (INRS), Canada
  • Naonori SAKAMOTO, Shizuoka University, Japan
  • Gopinathan SANKAR, University College London, United Kingdom
  • Yury SHCHIPUNOV, Institute of Chemistry, Russian Academy of Scienes, Russian Federation
  • Kohei SOGA, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
  • Andre TEN ELSHOF, University of Twente, Netherlands
  • Lionel VAYSSIERES, Xi'an Jiaotong University, China
  • Sabino VEINTEMILLAS, Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid CSIC, Spain
  • Fiorenzo VETRONE, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique - Énergie, Matériaux et Télécommunications, Université du Québec, Canada
  • Ajayan VINU, The University of Queensland, Australia
  • Richard WALTON, University of Warwick, United Kingdom
  • Tomoaki WATANABE, Meiji University, Japan
  • Gunnar WESTIN, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Lan XIANG, Tsinghua University, China
  • Dan XIE, Tsinghua University, China
  • Kazumichi YANAGISAWA, Kochi University, Japan
  • Shu YIN, Tohoku University, Japan
  • Masahiro YOSHIMURA, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
  • Jiaguo YU, Wuhan University of Technology, China