Symposium Q
Novel Materials in Heterogeneous Catalysis


  • Ning YAN, National University of Singapore, Singapore


  • Kawai SIBUDJING, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Ziyi ZHONG, Institute of Chemical and Engineering Sciences, Singapore
  • Chunshan SONG, Pennsylvania State University, United States
  • Yongdan LI, Tianjin University, China


  • Dr Ning Yan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Tel: 6516 2886
    Mailing Address:
    Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, BLK E5, 4 Engineering Drive 4, #02-37, National University of Singapore, Singapore 117585


Scope of Symposium

This Symposium is focused on precisely synthesized nanoparticles, metal clusters, single-site catalysts, and porous materials, understanding the relationships between the (geometric and electronic) structure of these novel materials and their catalytic properties, and rational manipulation of the latter through the former. Detailed scope includes:

  • Catalysis over nano-scale materials with carefully tuned size, morphology and composition;
  • Catalysis over metal clusters with atomic precision in cluster size and composition;
  • Catalysis over single-site, heterogeneous catalysts;
  • Catalysis over novel porous materials.

Invited Speakers

  • Steven CHUANG, The University of Akron, United States
  • Sheng DAI, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States
  • Yu HAN, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
  • Rongchao JIN, Carnegie Mellon University, United States
  • Vivek POLSHETTIWAR, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), India
  • Yuriy ROMAN, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
  • Yugang SUN, Argonne National Laboratory, United States
  • Jean-Philippe TESSONNIER, Iowa State University, United States
  • Edman TSANG, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Tatsuya TSUKUDA, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Qiang WANG, Beijing Forestry University, China
  • Kevin Chia-Wen WU, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Yusuke YAMADA, Osaka University, Japan
  • Hong YANG, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States
  • Jun YANG, Institute of Process Engineering, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Hua Chun ZENG, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Tao ZHANG, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, China
  • Yugen ZHANG, Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, Singapore
  • Huaiyong ZHU, Queensland University of Technology, Australia