Symposium A
Advances in Energy Storage Systems: Lithium Batteries, Supercapacitors and Beyond


  • Palani BALAYA, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Pooi See LEE, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


  • Ilias BELHAROUAK, Qatar Environment & Energy Research Institute, Qatar
  • Mickael DOLLE, Université de Montréal, Canada
  • Shinichi KOMABA, Tokyo University of Science, Japan


  • Prof Palani Balaya, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Tel: 6516 7644
    Mailing Address:
    Singapore 119260

Scope of Symposium

Overall Theme of the Symposium:
o Electrochemical energy storage systems such as batteries and supercapacitors are actively pursued research areas for modern electronic devices, electric vehicles as well as stationary applications such as microgrids using solar and wind plants.
o Current research on lithium-ion battery for various applications focuses on increasing energy density and power density besides improving safety. In addition, several technologies are emerging beyond lithium-ion batteries such as lithium-air, lithium-sulfur, sodium-ion batteries, magnesium batteries, all-solid-state batteries, organic batteries, electrochemical capacitor etc.,
o In-situ operando characterization of electrode materials for batteries
o It is anticipated that this symposium will provide an outstanding opportunity for participants to exchange ideas and promote discussions on recent advances in the field of energy storage.

Acknowledgement: Symposium A organizers wish to thank the Battery Society of Japan for their cash contribution to the symposium.


Highlights of the Symposium:
Symposium will address the materials preparation, fundamentals, modeling, mechanisms and characterization of the positive electrode, negative electrode, electrolytes, binders and separators for the following energy storage systems:
o Lithium-ion Batteries
o Sodium-ion Batteries
o Magnesium Batteries
o Lithium-air Batteries
o Lithium-sulfur Batteries
o Redox Flow Batteries
o All-solid-state Batteries
o Thin-film/3-D Batteries for Micro-electronics
o Organic Batteries
o High Temperature Batteries
o Supercapacitors
o Pseudocapacitors
o Supercapbatteries
o In-situ operando characterization
o Large Scale Storage Systems for EV and Micro-grids

Half-day Symposium:
In honor of Prof. Joachim Maier’s (Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart) 60th Birthday

Publication of Special Proceedings:
A special issue of selected manuscripts from the Symposium will be published in “Journal of Solid State Electrochemistry”.

Invited Speakers

  • Daniel ABRAHAM, Argonne National Laboratory, United States
  • Stefan ADAMS, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Rajeev AHUJA, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Craig B. ARNOLD, Princeton University, United States
  • Aninda J BHATTACHARYYA, Indian Institute of Science, India
  • Renaud BOUCHET, Alpes Grenoble Universités, France
  • Dany CARLIER-LARREGARAY, Institute of Condensed Matter Chemistry of Bordeaux (ICMCB) - National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), France
  • Laurence CROGUENNEC, Institute of Condensed Matter Chemistry of Bordeaux (ICMCB) - National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), France
  • Bruce DUNN, University of California Los Angeles, United States
  • Yury GOGOTSI, Drexel University, United States
  • Dominique GUYOMARD, National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), France
  • Geoffroy HAUTIER, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
  • Akitoshi HAYASHI, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
  • Chi-Chang HU, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
  • Saiful ISLAM, University of Bath, United Kingdom
  • Hao JIANG, East China University of Science and Technology, China
  • Kiyoshi KANAMURA, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
  • Ryoji KANNO, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Woong KIM, Korea University, South Korea
  • Shinichi KOMABA, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
  • Frederic LE CRAS, CEA Leti, France
  • Hong LI, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Joachim MAIER, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Germany
  • Christian MASQUELIER, Université de Picardie Jules Vernes, France
  • Shirley MENG, University of California San Diego, United States
  • David MITLIN, Clarkson University, United States
  • Partha MUKHERJEE, Texas A&M University, United States
  • Ganesan NAGASUBRAMANIAN, Sandia National Laboratories, United States
  • Masanobu NAKAYAMA, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Peter NOTTEN, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Shigeto OKADA, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Philippe POIZOT, University of Nantes, France
  • Vilas POL, Purdue University, United States
  • Mikhail REZNICHENKO, Nikolaev Institute of Inorganic Chemistry Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences, Russian Federation
  • Dominic ROCHEFORT, University of Montreal, Canada
  • Myung SEUNG-TAEK, Sejong University, South Korea
  • Anton VAN DER VEN, University of California Santa Barbara, United States
  • Chongmin WANG, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, United States
  • Zhaoyin WEN, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • M. Stanley WHITTINGHAM, Binghamton University, United States
  • Yuping WU, Fudan University, China
  • Atsuo YAMADA, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Yuki YAMADA, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Rachid YAZAMI, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • George ZHAO, The University of Queensland, Australia