Login email:
New User? Create an Account
Forgot Password? Retrieve Password

Symposium I
Recent Advances in the Pulsed Laser Deposition of Thin Films and Nanostructures


  • T. VENKATESAN, NUSNNI-Nanocore, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • A. ARIANDO, NUSNNI-Nanocore, National University of Singapore, Singapore


  • Prof A. Ariando, NUSNNI-Nanocore, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Email: ariando@nus.edu.sg
    Tel: 65-6516 7900
    Fax: 65-6777 6126
    Mailing Address:
    Department of Physics & NUSNNI-Nanocore, National University of Singapore, 2 Science Drive 3
    Singapore 117542

Scope of Symposium

This is the 25th year of the discovery of the Pulsed Laser Deposition (PLD) process which has revolutionized research in the growth of multi component films. Many of the key players involved in pioneering this process have been invited to talk at this symposium and the symposium will focus on a variety of processing variations using PLD as well as on the growth of various advanced (artificial) materials and heterostructures. Pulsed electron deposition will also be addressed and a variety of in situ diagnostic techniques will also be discussed. The application of PLD process for a diverse variety of materials in the form of epitaxial, amorphous films and nano structures (including nano particles and nano fibers) will be considered. A panel discussion to discuss the future of PLD will also be one of the highlights of this symposium and we are planning a symposium proceeding to mark the 25th anniversary of PLD. The symposium will have invited speakers from over a dozen different countries.


The manuscripts of all those papers that are presented at the conference and accepted after peer review will be published online in “Procedia Engineering” by  Elsevier. Details for online submission of the manuscripts will be made available by concerned symposium chair while accepting the paper for presentation at the conference.

Invited Speakers

  • Dave BLANK, University of Twente , Netherlands ( Abstract )
  • Jun DING, National University of Singapore, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • Hani ELSAYED-ALI, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Old Dominion University, United States ( Abstract )
  • Burkhard FECHNER, Coherent GmbH, Goettingen, Germany ( Abstract )
  • Hiroshi FUJIOKA, University of Tokyo , Japan ( Abstract )
  • Alex GRISHIN, Royal Stockholm Institute (Sweden), Sweden ( Abstract )
  • Arunava GUPTA, University of Alabama , United States ( Abstract )
  • H-U. HABERMEIER, Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung, Germany ( Abstract )
  • Sergei KALININ, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States ( Abstract )
  • Norlida KAMARULZAMAN , Universiti Teknologi MARA, Malaysia ( Abstract )
  • Hideomi KOINUMA , University of Tokyo , Japan ( Abstract )
  • Solomon KOLAGANI , Neocera , United States ( Abstract )
  • Gad KOREN, Physics Department, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel ( Abstract )
  • Michael LORENZ , University of Leipzig/Halle , Germany ( Abstract )
  • Jiwei LU, University of Virginia, United States ( Abstract )
  • Louis MORELLON, University of Zaragoza (Spain), Spain ( Abstract )
  • Wilfrid PRELLIER, CNRS, France ( Abstract )
  • Guus RIJNDERS, University of Twente, Netherlands ( Abstract )
  • Akihito SAWA, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Sundar M SOLOMON, Mumbai University, India ( Abstract )
  • Pham Duc THANG, Vietnam National University Hanoi (Vietnam), Vietnam ( Abstract )
  • Tao Tom WU, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • Jinbo YANG, Peking University, China ( Abstract )
  • Shiohara YUH, International Superconductivity Technology Center (ISTEC), Japan ( Abstract )