Login email:
New User? Create an Account
Forgot Password? Retrieve Password

Symposium DD
Nanostructures for Bio Sensing and Detection


  • Bengang XING, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Edwin YEOW, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


  • Xing Yi LING, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


  • Dr Bengang Xing, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
    Email: bengang@ntu.edu.sg
    Tel: +65-63168758
    Fax: +65-67911961
    Mailing Address:
    SPMS-04-01, 21 Nanyang Link
    School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences
    Nanyang Technological University

Scope of Symposium

This symposium aims to bring together researchers working in the fields of biological sensing and detection on the topics:

  • Physical characterization of nanostructures; 
  • Application of nanostructures;
  • Synthetic development of nanostructures towards bio-detection and sensing applications; 
  • Theoretical design of nanostructures for bio-sensing, labeling and detection;

Synergy among these diverse fields is critical for developing novel sensing and detection schemes and for improving the sensitivity of current systems.


The manuscripts of all those papers that are presented at the conference and accepted after peer review will be published online in “Procedia Engineering” by  Elsevier. Details for online submission of the manuscripts will be made available by concerned symposium chair while accepting the paper for presentation at the conference.

Invited Speakers

  • Ramon A. ALVAREZ-PUEBLA, Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain ( Abstract )
  • Yoshinobu BABA, Nagoya University, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Vasudevanpillai BIJU, National Insitute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Frank CARUSO, University of Melbourne, Australia ( Abstract )
  • Yin-Thai CHAN, National University of Singapore, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • Lai-Kwan CHAU, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan ( Abstract )
  • Xiaoyuan (Shawn) CHEN, National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering, United States ( Abstract )
  • Hongwei DUAN, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • Mingyuan GAO, Institute of Chemistry, CAS, China ( Abstract )
  • Xuefeng GUO, Peking University, China ( Abstract )
  • Jong-in HAHM, Georgetown University, United States ( Abstract )
  • Johan HOFKENS, KU Leuven, Belgium ( Abstract )
  • Mitsuru ISHIKAWA, Josai University, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Xingyu JIANG, National Center for Nanoscience and Technology of China, China ( Abstract )
  • Pascal JONKHEIJM, University of Twente, Netherlands ( Abstract )
  • Kazuya KIKUCHI, Osaka University, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Zee Hwan KIM, Korea University, South Korea ( Abstract )
  • Bin LIU, National University of Singapore, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • Yi LU, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States ( Abstract )
  • Stephane PETOUD, CNRS, France ( Abstract )
  • Bin REN, Xiamen University, China ( Abstract )
  • Maarten ROEFFAERS, KU Leuven, Belgium ( Abstract )
  • Francesco STALLACCI, EPFL, Switzerland ( Abstract )
  • Xiaodi SU, Institute of Material Research and Engineering, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • Ben Zhong TANG, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China ( Abstract )
  • Shu WANG, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China ( Abstract )
  • Yujie XIONG, University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), China ( Abstract )
  • Haw YANG, Princeton University, United States ( Abstract )
  • Peidong YANG, University of California, United States ( Abstract )
  • Jun ZHANG, Inner Mongolia University, China ( Abstract )
  • Gang ZHENG, University of Toronto, Canada ( Abstract )