Login email:
New User? Create an Account
Forgot Password? Retrieve Password

Symposium X
Crystal Engineering of New Materials


  • JJ VITTAL, National University of Singapore, Singapore


  • Srinivasulu AITIPAMULA, Institute of Chemical and Engineering Sciences, Singapore
  • Srinivasan NATARAJAN, Indian Institute of Science, India
  • Masaki KAWANO, Pohang University of Science and Technology(POSTECH), South Korea
  • Stuart BATTEN, Monash University, Australia


  • Prof JJ Vittal, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Email: chmjjv@nus.edu.sg
    Tel: (65) 6516-2976
    Fax: (65)6779-1691
    Mailing Address:
    Department of Chemistry, National University of Singapore, 3 Science Drive 3,
    Singapore 117543

Scope of Symposium

Crystal Engineering, a multidisciplinary area of research, lies at the intersection of materials design, fabrication and applications. The proposed symposium will focus on the design, characterisation and applications of new crystal engineered materials, and the study of the non-covalent interactions and coordinate bonds responsible for their structures. The main themes of the symposium will not only focus on the new approaches to the design of the functional solids but also their applications such as catalysis and gas storage.

a) Intermolecular Interactions
b) Design and Crystal Engineering Strategies
c) Crystallization and crystal growth
d) Polymorphism
e) Multi-component molecular crystals
f) Metal coordination polymers
g) Properties and applications
h) Honouring Prof. Gautam R. Desiraju for his contribution to crystal engineering


The manuscripts of all those papers that are presented at the conference and accepted after peer review will be published online in “Procedia Engineering” by  Elsevier. Details for online submission of the manuscripts will be made available by concerned symposium chair while accepting the paper for presentation at the conference.

Invited Speakers

  • Brendan ABRAHAMS, University of Melbourne, Australia ( Abstract )
  • Rahul BANERJEE, NCL, India ( Abstract )
  • Jubaraj B. BARUAH, IIT-Guwahati, India ( Abstract )
  • Kumar BIRADHA, IIT-Kharagpur, India ( Abstract )
  • Roger BISHOP, University of New South Wales, Australia ( Abstract )
  • Susan A . BOURNE, University of Cape Town, South Africa  ( Abstract )
  • Banglin CHEN, University of Texas at San Antonio, United States ( Abstract )
  • Xiao-Ming CHEN, Sun Yat-Sen University, China ( Abstract )
  • Malla Reddy CHILLA, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Kolkata, India ( Abstract )
  • Gautam R. DESIRAJU, IISc, India ( Abstract )
  • Miao DU, Tianjin Normal University, China ( Abstract )
  • Song GAO, Peking University, China ( Abstract )
  • Sujit K. GHOSH, IISER, India ( Abstract )
  • Jun HARADA, Hokkaido University, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Yasuhide INOKUMA, University of Tokyo, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Jianwen JIANG, Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, National University of Singapore, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • Hiroshi KITAGAWA, Kyoto University, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Sanjit KONAR, IISER, India ( Abstract )
  • Myoung Soo LAH, Ulson National Institute of Science & Technology (UNIST), South Korea ( Abstract )
  • Shim Sung LEE, Gyeongsang National University, South Korea ( Abstract )
  • Daniel B. LEZNOFF, Simon Fraser U, Canada ( Abstract )
  • Jing LI, Rudgers, United States ( Abstract )
  • Tong-Bu LU, Sun Yat-Sen University, China ( Abstract )
  • Ramasamy MURUGAVEL, IIT Bombay, India ( Abstract )
  • Ashwini NANGIA, Univ. Hyderabad, India ( Abstract )
  • Annie POWELL, Universitat Karlsruhe, Germany ( Abstract )
  • Shilun QIU, Jilin University, China ( Abstract )
  • Arunachalam RAMANAN, IIT-Delhi, India ( Abstract )
  • Guru ROW, IISc, India ( Abstract )
  • Martin SCHRODER, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom ( Abstract )
  • George SHIMIZU, University of Calgary, Canada ( Abstract )
  • Myunghyun Paik SUH, Seoul National University, South Korea ( Abstract )
  • Praveen THALLAPALLI, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA 99352 USA, United States ( Abstract )
  • Edward TIEKINK, University of Malaya, Malaysia ( Abstract )
  • Biing-Chiau TZENG, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan ( Abstract )
  • Venu R. VENGALA, ICES, A*STAR, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • Ian D WILLIAMS, HKUST, Hong Kong SAR ( Abstract )
  • Masahiro YAMASITA, Tohoku University, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Mike J. ZAWOROTKO, University of South Florida, United States ( Abstract )