Login email:
New User? Create an Account
Forgot Password? Retrieve Password

Symposium L
Graphene Optoelectronics


  • Wei JI, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Antonio Helio CASTRO NETO, National University of Singapore, Singapore


  • Nuno Miguel PERES, University of Minho, Portugal


  • Prof Wei Ji, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Email: phyjiwei@nus.edu.sg
    Tel: (65) 6516 6373
    Fax: (65) 6777 6126
    Mailing Address:
    2 Science Drive 3

    Singapore 117542

Scope of Symposium

The emerging of graphene, atomic-thin, two-dimensional carbon structure, has presented a new candidate for future optoelectronic devices. In particular, light-graphene interaction allows achieving new degree of both performance and functionality – a combination unachievable by most conventional materials.

The objective of this symposium is to bring together physicists, chemists, materials scientists, engineers, and industrialists to share and discuss the latest advances in this multi-discipline field. It covers graphene’s optical and plasmonic properties, fabrication techniques, and design and demonstration of graphene-based optoelectronic devices. Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

(1) Theory, modeling, simulation and characterization on
      a. linear optical properties of graphene,
      b. nonlinear optical properties of graphene
      c. photoconductive responses of graphene,
      d. photoluminescence of graphene,
      e. infrared and THz responses of graphene,
      f. plasmonic phenomena in graphene, and
      g. transparent conductive properties of graphene.

(2) Design, fabrication and demonstration of utilizing graphene or graphene-based hybrid materials to improve device performance in the fields of
     a. photodetectors and antenna,
     b. optical communications,
     c. nonlinear optical devices,
     d. light-emitting and lasing devices,
     e. solar cells,
     f. far-infrared and THz devices, and
     g. plasmonic devices.

Invited Speakers

  • Jong-Hyun AHN, Sungkyunkwan Univ, SKKU Adv Inst Nanotechnol SAINT, South Korea ( Abstract )
  • Yu. V. BLUDOV, University of Minho, Portugal ( Abstract )
  • Yu CHEN, East China University of Science and Technology, China ( Abstract )
  • Lay-lay CHUA, National University of Singapore, Department of Chemistry, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • A C. FERRARI, Cambridge University, United Kingdom ( Abstract )
  • Sandrine HEUTZ, Imperial College , United Kingdom ( Abstract )
  • Alexander W. HOLLEITNER, Walter Schottky Institut and Physik-Department, Technische Universität München, Germany ( Abstract )
  • Juan-Carlos IDROBO, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Materials Science and Technology Division, United States ( Abstract )
  • Junichiro KONO, Rice Univ, Dept Elect & Comp Engn,, United States ( Abstract )
  • Frank H. L. KOPPENS, ICFO Inst Ciencies Foton, Spain
  • Ralph KRUPKE, Karlsruhe Inst Technol, Inst Nanotechnol, Germany ( Abstract )
  • Young Hee LEE, Sungkyunkwan Univ, SKKU Adv Inst Nanotechnol, South Korea ( Abstract )
  • Kian Ping LOH, National University of Singapore, Department of Chemistry, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • Vitor Manuel PEREIRA, National University of Singapore, Dept of Phys, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • C. W. WONG, Columbia University, Dept of Mech Engn, United States ( Abstract )
  • Fengnian XIA, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, United States ( Abstract )
  • Hui ZHAO, University of Kansas, USA ( Abstract )
  • Jimin ZHAO, Institute of Physics, CAS, China ( Abstract )
  • Hongwei ZHU, Tsinghua Univ, Dept Mech Engn, China ( Abstract )