Login email:
New User? Create an Account
Forgot Password? Retrieve Password

Symposium A
Advanced Energy Storage Systems: Lithium ion batteries and beyond


  • Stefan ADAMS, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Rachid YAZAMI, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


  • Peter G. BRUCE, University of St. Andrews, United Kingdom
  • Werner WEPPNER, University of Kiel, Germany
  • Liquan CHEN, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


  • Prof Stefan Adams, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Email: mseasn@nus.edu.sg
    Tel: +65 6516 6869
    Fax: +65 6776 3604
    Mailing Address:
    National University of Singapore
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering
    5 Engineering Drive 2, E2 05-22
    Singapore 117576

Scope of Symposium

This symposium focuses on materials for energy storage systems bringing together scientists advancing the fundamental understanding of new electrode and electrolyte materials, their processing and characterization with application-oriented researchers that optimize materials by nanostructuring, defect or interface engineering for the integration in high performance devices and engineers that utilize the materials to realise the next generation of energy storage solutions with high energy and power density and improved safety for key applications such as electric vehicles and the grid integration of renewable energy sources.

In particular contributions on the following topics are encouraged:

  • Novel Materials for systems with enhanced energy and power density
  • Lithium batteries: cathode, anode materials
  • Ionic liquids for batteries, supercapacitors and solar cells
  • High performance solid electrolytes for energy storage systems
  • Materials and devices for energy storage systems with enhanced safety
  • High energy density supercapacitors
  • Energy storage systems for electric vehicles & buffering renewable energy supplies
  • Solid-electrolyte-interface engineering
  • Electroceramics for high and intermediate temperature fuel cells
  • Novel device architectures and nanotechnological processes for device fabrication
  • Nanoscale interfacial phenomena, nanohierarchical electrodes
  • Materials characterisation by in-situ, space-resolved and nanoscale analysis
  • Fundamentals of charge transport in energy storage materials
  • Modelling and simulation of energy storage materials and systems


After peer-reviewing, selected manuscripts presented at this symposium will be published as a special issue of Solid State Ionics. Maximum length is 8 journal pages for invited manuscripts and 5 journal pages for manuscripts related to contributed talks or posters. Manuscript submission to Solid State Ionics using the submission option “ICMAT 2013 Symposium A” will be open from 1 June 2013 until 27 July, 2013. Participants will receive a free copy of the special issue.

Invited Speakers

  • Doron AURBACH, Bar Ilan Institute of Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials, Israel ( Abstract )
  • Ilias BELHAROUAK, Argonne National Laboratory, United States ( Abstract )
  • Aninda BHATTACHARYYA, IISc , India ( Abstract )
  • Gerbrand CEDER, MIT, United States ( Abstract )
  • Jaephil CHO, Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST), South Korea ( Abstract )
  • Yi CUI, Stanford University, United States ( Abstract )
  • Claude DELMAS, ICMCB, France ( Abstract )
  • Kristina EDSTRÖM , Uppsala Universitet, Sweden ( Abstract )
  • Frank ENDRES, Clausthal University of Technology, Germany ( Abstract )
  • Dominique GUYOMARD, Institut des Matériaux Jean ROUXEL (IMN), France ( Abstract )
  • Nobuyuki IMANISHI, Mie University, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Erik JÄMSTORP BERG, Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland ( Abstract )
  • Ryoji KANNO, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Kwang Bum KIM, Department of Material Science and Engineering, Yonsei University, South Korea ( Abstract )
  • Robert KOSTECKI, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, United States ( Abstract )
  • Hong LI, CAS Institute of Physics, China ( Abstract )
  • Yi-Chun LU, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK), Hong Kong SAR ( Abstract )
  • Shirley MENG , UC San Diego, United States ( Abstract )
  • Kristin PERSSON, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, United States ( Abstract )
  • Nikolaos TSIOVARAS, Technical University of Munich, Germany ( Abstract )
  • Qing WANG, National University of Singapore, Singapore ( Abstract )
  • M. Stanley WHITTINGHAM, SUNY at Binghamton/ NECCES EFRC at Stony Brook University, United States ( Abstract )
  • Yuping WU, Fudan University, China ( Abstract )
  • Atsuo YAMADA, University of Tokyo, Japan ( Abstract )
  • Xiao-Qing YANG, Brookhaven National Laboratory , United States ( Abstract )