Login email:
New User? Create an Account
Forgot Password?
Retrieve Password
View All Symposia
Industry Sessions
Submit Abstract
Important Dates
Fees & Registration
Program & Highlights
Schedule Finder
Sponsors & Exhibitors
Make a Booking
Sponsors & Exhibitors
Conference Venue
Singapore & Beyond
Travel Visa

Symposium O
Photovoltaic Materials and Devices


  • Armin ABERLE, Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore, National University of Singapore, Singapore


  • Bram HOEX, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Shuyan XU, National Institute of Education, Singapore
  • Stefan GLUNZ, Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems, Germany
  • Andreas BETT, Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems, Germany


  • Armin ABERLE, Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore, Singapore
    Email: armin.aberle@nus.edu.sg
    Tel: +65 6516 4155
    Fax: +65 6775 1943
    Mailing Address:
    7 Engineering Drive 1
    NUS, Building E3A, #06-01

Scope of Symposium

Instructions for Conference paper click here
Template for Conference paper click here
Author Guidelines click here
Copyright form click here

To reduce the cost of photovoltaic (PV) electricity, ongoing innovations in the field of PV materials and devices are required. In the field of standard PV technologies, the emergence of lower-purity silicon wafers demands a better understanding of contaminants and defects in crystalline silicon. Fully realising the potential of thin-film solar cells based on silicon, CdTe, CIS and related materials requires a deeper understanding of issues such as electrically active defects. In the field of concentrator PV, a good understanding of bandgap engineering and defects in epitaxial semiconductor films is critical for ultra-high-performance III-V solar cells. This symposium covers the broad field of inorganic PV materials and devices, ranging from silicon feedstock and wafers via thin-film solar cells to advanced concepts for PV energy conversion. Contributions in the following areas are particularly welcome:
1) Characterization of PV materials
2) Crystalline silicon feedstock, ingots, wafers
3) Silicon wafer solar cells: Defect engineering and device processing
4) Silicon thin-film solar cells
5) CdTe, CIS and related compound semiconductor thin-film solar cells
6) III-V semiconductor materials and solar cells
7) Novel concepts for PV energy conversion
8) PV modules: Materials, fabrication, performance and durability

Guided tour of the Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore (SERIS)

Invited Speakers

  • Christophe BALLIF, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Institute of Microengineering (IMT), Photovoltaics and Thin Film Electronics Laboratory,
  • Andreas BETT, Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems,
  • Andrew BLAKERS, Australian National University,
  • Matt BORELAND, National University of Singapore,
  • Gavin CONIBEER, University of New South Wales,
  • Andres CUEVAS, Australian National University,
  • Marcel DI VECE, Utrecht University,
  • J.R. DONG, Chinese Academy of Sciences,
  • Nicholas EKINS-DAUKE, Imperial College London,
  • Lukas FEITKNECHT, goMicromorph Ltd.,
  • Claudio FERRARA, Fraunhofer - Instituts für Solare Energiesysteme,
  • Bart GEERLIGS, Energy Research Centre of the Netherlands Solar Energy,
  • David GINLEY, National Renewable Energy Laboratory,
  • Stefan GLUNZ, Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems,
  • Bram HOEX, National University of Singapore,
  • Franz KARG, AVANCIS,
  • Christian KLOC, Nanyang Technological University,
  • Lean Chooi LOH, PV World Pte Ltd,
  • Joachim LUTHER, National University of Singapore,
  • Johannes MEIER, Oerlikon Solar-Lab SA,
  • Thomas MUELLER, National University of Singapore,
  • Adolf MUENZER, Centrotherm Photovoltaics AG,
  • Pierre PAPET, Roth and Rau Switzerland,
  • Jef POORTMANS, Interuniversity MicroElectronics Center,
  • Jatin RATH, Utrecht University, Debye Institute for Nanomaterials Science, Netherlands
  • Ajeet ROHATGI, Georgia Institute of Technology,
  • Jan SCHMIDT, Institute for Solar Energy Research Hamelin,
  • Hans-Werner SCHOCK, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH,
  • B.J. STANBERY, HelioVolt,
  • Rob STEEMAN, REC Cells Pte Ltd,
  • Ayodhya TIWARI, Eidgenössische Materialprüfungs- und Forschungsanstalt,
  • Thorsten TRUPKE, BT Imaging Pty Ltd,
  • Richard (M.C.M.) VAN DE SANDEN, University of Technology, FOM Institute for Plasma Physics Rijnhuizen, Netherlands
  • Timothy WALSH, National University of Singapore,
  • Stuart WENHAM, The University of New South Wales,
  • Masafumi YAMAGUCHI, Toyota Technological Institute,
  • Kenji YAMAMOTO, Kaneka Corporation,
  • Miro ZEMAN, Delft University of Technology,
Organised by
In association with
Supported by
 COPYRIGHT 2010 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Conference Managed by Meeting Matters International